MLIVE 2018

  • DATE

    Sunday 4 March -
    Friday 30 November
  • VENUE

    Alexander Theatre
    George Jenkins Theatre
    Robert Blackwood Hall
  • TICKETS

    $0 to $99
BOOK TICKETS

This program of cultural events aims to reflect the goals of the University: excellence, inclusivity and enterprise by embracing both our internal and external communities.

We have developed industry partnerships with an array of performing arts organisations both Australian and international that will see the development of many important new works and initiatives over the next few years: the first fruits of those partnerships can be seen in 2018 in the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra’s Metropolis New Music Festival , the residency of Belarus Free Theatre, and in the world premiere of Spinifex Gum, a co-commission with the Adelaide and Sydney Festivals.

There is so much to discover and enjoy here, new dance for children from Queensland’s Dancenorth, beautifully made theatre from Adelaide’s Slingsby, hard-hitting, contemporary work from La Boite Theatre, Tasmania Performs and Melbourne’s Lab Kelpie. Following on the success of 2017’s Jazz Greats Weekend this year will see stars Megan Washington, Vince Jones, Joe Camilleri and Vika Bull in all-new projects. The rich performing life of our students will be on display in concerts by the brilliant Monash Academy Orchestra, and in the world premiere of the musical The Dressmaker, made possible by the Pratt Foundation.


DATE EVENT VENUE
Sunday, 4 March 2018 The King’s Singers Robert Blackwood Hall
Sunday, 11 March 2018 Spinifex Gum Robert Blackwood Hall
Sunday, 15 April 2018 Organ Series – Brett Leighton Robert Blackwood Hall
Sunday, 15 April 2018 Monash Academy Orchestra –
Celebrating George Dreyfus
featuring Benjamin Northey and Rebecca Chan
Robert Blackwood Hall
Sunday, 22 April 2018 WMVA Piano Recital Series –
Gabriella Smart:
Of Broken Trees and Elephant Ivories
Robert Blackwood Hall
Saturday, 28 April 2018 Jazz Greats Concert 1 –Spinoff
featuring Vince Jones and Megan Washington
Robert Blackwood Hall
Sunday, 29 April 2018 Jazz Greats Concert 2 –
Edge of Reality – The Elvis Presley Songbook
featuring Joe Camilleri, Vika Bull and Paul Grabowsky
Robert Blackwood Hall
Sunday, 13 May 2018 Organ Series – Elizabeth-Anne Nixon Robert Blackwood Hall
Sunday, 13 May 2018 Monash Academy Orchestra –
Compassion featuring Nigel Westlake,
Lior Attar and Slava Grigoryan
Robert Blackwood Hall
Saturday, 2 June 2018 Taxithi Alexander Theatre
Sunday, 24 June 2018 Stephen Hough Alexander Theatre
Thursday, 28 June 2018 WMVA Piano Recital Series –
Andrea Lam: Premieres, Passion, and Puppets
Robert Blackwood Hall
Wednesday, 11 July 2018 Rainbow Vomit Alexander Theatre
Thursday, 2 August 2018
– Saturday, 4 August 2018
The Season Alexander Theatre
Saturday, 4 August 2018 Organ Series – John O’Donnell Robert Blackwood Hall
Saturday, 4 August 2018 Monash Academy Orchestra – Stabat Mater Robert Blackwood Hall
Monday, 6 August 2018
– Wednesday, 8 August 2018
Generation Jeans Alexander Theatre
Thursday, 9 August 2018 WMVA Piano Recital Series –
Zubin Kanga: Rhythmic Kaleidoscopes
Robert Blackwood Hall
Wednesday, 15 August 2018

Thursday, 16 August 2018

Live at the Alex: Middle Kids

Elegy

Alexander Theatre

Alexander Theatre

Thursday, 23 August 2018 WMVA Piano Recital Series –
Kristian Chong: Hammerklavier
Robert Blackwood Hall
Friday, 7 September 2018
– Saturday 8 September 2018
Emil and the Detectives Alexander Theatre
Thursday, 20 September 2018
– Saturday, 22 Setpember 2018
The Sound of Falling Stars Alexander Theatre
Thursday, 27 September 2018 WMVA Piano Recital Series –
Timothy Young: From Rameau to Bartok
Robert Blackwood Hall
Sunday, 7 October 2018 Organ Series – Jennifer Chou Robert Blackwood Hall
Sunday, 7 October 2018 Monash Academy Orchestra – Firebird Robert Blackwood Hall
Friday, 19 October 2018
– Friday, 26 October 2018
The Dressmaker Alexander Theatre
Friday, 26 October 2018
– Saturday, 27 October 2018
Prize Fighter George Jenkins Theatre

BOOK TICKETS

SHARE THIS:

BACK TO TOP ^