Sounds of Spring

Ticket booking is unavailable for this event.
  • DATE

    Friday 1st December, 8pm

    Robert Blackwood Hall
    49 Scenic Boulevard
    Monash University
    Clayton, VIC


    No exchanges or refunds

Sounds of Spring

Presented by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

Beethoven Spring Sonata
Copland Appalachian Spring
Piazzolla The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

Eoin Andersen violin/director
Stefan Cassomenos piano

MSO Concertmaster Eoin Andersen invites you to enjoy some of his favourite works celebrating the return of spring.

Beethoven’s Spring Sonata, bursting with lyricism and pastoral themes will see Eoin Andersen together with Melbourne’s own Stefan Cassomenos, who in 2013 was a laureate of the International Telekom Beethoven Competition in Bonn.

The second work on the programme, Copland’s powerful evocation of the life of American pioneers in the Appalachian Mountains, will be played in the original version for 13 instruments, lead from the first violin by Andersen.

In the second half we go to the southern hemisphere, where Astor Piazzolla mixes the fire of the tango with Vivaldi-flourishes in his highly original take on Four Seasons in Buenos Aires for violin and string orchestra.

Ticket Prices
A Reserve
Standard: $69.00
Concession: $64.00
Group of 10+: $58.65
B Reserve
Standard: $59.00
Concession: $54.00
Group of 10+: $50.15
C Reserve
Standard: $39.00
Concession: $34.00
Group of 10+: $33.15

Running Time
Approximately one hour and thirty-five minutes, including a twenty minute interval